• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying GameParadise! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

[Debian/Ubuntu] FacetimeHD Webcam Driver

admin

Chad
Staff member
85%
So, this is my first time building and distributing a DEB package, and it may not work as intended. I don't have a second Mac on hand that I can test with. I'm posting this for any other Mac users out there that are having a hard time getting the internal webcam working. The process to do it manually is rather tedious, and documentation is lacking. This is also a DKMS package, which means any time your kernel gets updated, the driver should be automatically added to the new kernel, making reinstalling it unnecessary. I've also extracted the color profiles from the Bootcamp driver, so color correction should also work properly. Credits for the actual driver go to patjak.

This driver should work with the following models:
  • iMac (21,5", since mid 2011)
  • iMac (27", since mid 2011)
  • MacBook Air (since mid 2011)
  • MacBook Pro (15", since early 2011)
  • MacBook Pro (17", since early 2011)
  • MacBook Pro (13", since early 2011)
  • Thunderbolt display
Download ZIPhttps://cloud.mogbox.net/s/ppgUGM07JSSCXdx/download

First, install the camera firmware from Apple:
Code:
> $ sudo apt install git cpio curl xz-utils
> $ sudo su - && cd /usr/local/src
> # git clone https://github.com/patjak/facetimehd-firmware.git && cd facetimehd-firmware
> # make && make install
> # exit
Then, install the driver and color profiles:
Code:
> $ unzip facetimehd-dkms_0.1_all-20221111.zip -d facetimehd && cd facetimehd
> $ sudo dpkg -i facetimehd-dkms_0.1_all-20221111.deb
> $ sudo cp Color\ Profiles/*.dat /usr/lib/firmware/facetimehd
Reboot and you should be good to go. Please let me know if anything goes wrong. I'll try to help as best as possible.

Update - June 11th, 2022