• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying GameParadise! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Hacking Beginner's guide: launch hacks, game backups and homebrews on WiiU & vWii

admin

Chad
Staff member
85%
Website
gameparadise.org
Credits
Hello,

Sorry for this thread if it's redundant but it seemed useful to me.

I'm a beginner in WiiU hacking, I've read all the sticky topics (and many non sticky ones) here and on other sites, and I'd like to summarize all the information we have today about hacking Wiiu and vWii and playing Gamecube, Wii and WiiU games and homebrews.

With your help, this thread could become a simple guide for new people arriving on this forum and wondering (like me) what they have to do and in which order. (which is generally not very clear on the other threads)

So please correct me if I say something wrong and complete me if I forgot something :)

last update: 18 january 2016

- Latest WiiU firmware : 5.5.1
- Latest safe WiiU firmware version: 5.3.2.
- Some WiiU backups can be played on firmwares 5.3.2 and lower, using Loadiine.
- IOSU is being developed for firmwares 5.5.1 and lower.
- Stay on 5.3.2 if you want to use current exploits.
- Stay on 5.4.0 if you want to use mp4 exploits with loadiine GX2 (not all homebrew ported yet).
- Stay on 5.5.1 if you want to play retail games online while you wait for Hykem's exploit.
- Don't update if you want to use current of future exploits.
- Latest HackMii version: 1.2
- Latest d2x cIOS: d2x-v10-beta53-alt-vWii / d2x-v10-beta52-vWii
- Latest d2x cIOS installer: FIX94s d2x cIOS Installer 2.2 mod

1) Installing WiiU updates

- Latest online update is now 5.5.1 and is not safe for WiiU hacking. If you want to update to the latest exploitable version you will need to update using a game disc : Mario party 10 or Splatoon.